ANTI-Pro-Ana/Pro-Mia/Thinspiration

Warning: While I will not post pictures on this entry, some of the content may be a trigger for those with eating disorders. Please do not continue to read if you struggle with such content.

I stumbled on to something that sent a chill up my spine. Clicking on page after page, I thought “this can’t be real. This can’t be serious. Is this a joke?”

But it was.

I happened to stumble on blog after blog then furthering my research, website after website of “thinspiration”. These pro-anorexia and pro-bulimia sites and their image galleries display these disorders as something that is acceptable and that produces satisfactory results.

I know. I’ll probably get some crazy backlash about this post and some people who say “pro-ana isn’t harmful if you’re doing it right!” but I don’t care because it is harmful potentially physically, mentally and emotionally. Plus, let’s just say that for every Trump supporter there’s a Trump-hater. I’m that Trump-hater. I’m that ana-pro hater, that pro-mia-hater.

I’ve seen quotes on these sites that say things like “wake up: don’t eat”, “I want to be the girl you love”, and advice to not talk to my friends until I hit that perfect weight because they’ll only get in the way with galleries upon galleries of girls with protruding hip-bones, model-flat stomachs, and thigh gap upon thigh gap.

This is not to say that I’m some heavy weight woman sitting behind my laptop screen eating a bag of chips and wiping my greasy fingers off on my shirt. On the contrary, I’m fit with a flat stomach. I’ve had my days when I look in the mirror and I don’t like what I see but I have never thought “oh, I need to think like an anorexic and make myself get skinnier and obsess over it.”

Ladies, if you want a skinnier body then yes, work for it. Don’t be lazy: work out a couple days of the week. By all means eat your fruits and veggies but don’t go all day without eating at all or eating one extremely small meal a day. In fact, a lot of studies show that eating small portions all day helps in weight loss. Eat. Your body will thank you for it.  Please do not lose weight by adopting the tendencies and mindset of someone with a mental illness. Please do not berate yourself day after day for the way your body was made and how it naturally works- for being hungry.

I realize that someone may comment on this post, “well you’re just directing girls to those websites.”

Trust me, if they really want to find it and look at it, they’ll do it. If they think that supporting one of those websites is a good idea, then they were thinking that way long before I even thought of this post.

This is a call for healthy choices, healthy lifestyles and healthy bodies.

This is my very own opposite post against those horrid pro-ana and pro-mia websites and thinspiration with women whose bones are protruding. We shouldn’t look to those. What’s the point of being skinny if we can’t enjoy it? You’ll be weak if you don’t eat, if you’re constantly in turmoil thinking about how skinny you want to be. Get fit and you’ll look and feel great.

This isn’t pro-ana, this is pro-health.

I hope you’ll join me.

Leave a Reply

